NZ Plant Producers congratulates Malcolm Woolmore AHRIH

21 Apr 2021

Congratulations to Malcolm Woolmore of Lyndale Nurseries for receiving the Associate of Honour Award from the Royal NZ Institute of Horticulture.

This is the Institute’s highest honour, awarded only to persons who have rendered distinguished service to horticulture.

Malcolm’s connection with Lyndale Nurseries began as a schoolboy job that led to a lifetime involvement in the company, as a shareholder in 1980, then full ownership in 2001. Malcolm is an entrepreneur, establishing related businesses including Lyndale Custom Mix Ltd (a specialist supplier of potting mixes) and KiwiFlora Ltd (representing plant breeders’ and dealing in Plant Variety Rights and plant patents). Significantly, Malcolm has undertaken leadership roles broader than his business interests. He has served on the International Plant Propagators’ Society New Zealand Region (IPPS-NZ) committee as its Editor, Vice President, President, International Director, and IPPS International Director.

Malcolm has also held prominent advisory roles representing the nursery industry for NZ Plant Producers and our predecessor organisations. He is also a long-term supporter of the Auckland Botanic Gardens and RNZIH Education Trust Young Horticulturist Competition. Although Malcolm became a Fellow of the RNZIH only two years ago (in 2019), the status of his work at the national level fully justifies being further recognised by the Royal New Zealand Institute of Horticulture’s highest award, an Associate of Honour.

NZ Plant Producers also congratulates the other RNZIH award recipients.

  • Robin Pagan (Invercargill) and Russell Lowe (Te Puke) have also been declared Associates of Honour
  • Ross Ferguson (Auckland) receives the Award in Garden History
  • John Hunter (Nelson) receives the Plant Raisers’ Award for his daffodil selections Cosmic Image, Emerald Sea, Floris Selina, Green Topaz, and Moonwalker
  • Carroll Walsh (Hawera), David Hobbs (Christchurch), and Liz Powell (Auckland) are now Fellows of the Institute.




Forgot password?
Create an Account